The List Updates Statistics Contact
Audio 2014-10-13 13:51:07 2017-02-18 22:09:45



Netherlands - Utrecht

Version: Sony PCM-M10


First Set: "The Fall of the Math"
01 [intro]
02 Another Code Against the Gone
03 Install a Beak in the Heart That Clucks Time in Arabic
04 Retreat! Retreat!
05 Default This
06 I Swallowed Hard, Like I Understood
07 The Fall of Math
08 This Cat Is a Landmine
09 The Last Home Recording
10 Hole
11 [banter]
12 Fix the Sky a Little
13 Aren't We All Running?

Second Set:
14 [intro]
15 Heat Death Infinity Splitter
16 Prisms
17 The Undertow
18 Sleepwalk City
19 Taipei
20 Unmake the Wild Light
21 Safe Passage
22 [encore]
23 Radio Protector


106:00 min
Lineage: Sony PCM-M10 internal mics (24/96) > Har-Bal v2.3 Revision 3 [EQ & extra dBs] > Wavelab 6.10 build 340 [plugins: Magneto 1.5, D82 Sonic Maximizer and Waves L3 Ultramaximizer] > CD Wave Editor v1.98 > Audacity [convert to 16/44.1 format, fade in/fade out] > Trader's Little Helper > Mp3Tag > Flac [16bps/44.1kHz]
Position: 3 meters from stage, left side
Mics: inside chest pocket


Joe Shrewsbury
Paul Wolinski
Rob Jones
Simon Wright


(a playlist containing about 3/4 of both sets in reverse order)

It is very rare for me to go to a show solely for the support act, from the top of my head this is the second time in the last couple of years. Thought Forms were great, even though they only played a half hour set. I had never listened to anything of 65daysofstatic before, and to be honest I probably never will. I didn't like them very much, too much electronica for me, synths and drum computers. Their show was split up in two sets, with a 15 minute intermission in between. The first set consisted of their first album "The Fall of the Math" in its entirety, the second set was focused on their most recent work Wild Light, except for the final song in the encore. The first album was released ten years ago, which seemed a bit odd to me, those guys appeared to be in their mid twenties, so that record was made when they were fifteen?
Unfortunately I didn't have external mics, the good old CA-11's were broken and the CA-14's hadn't arrived yet and I had to settle with the internal mics of the PCM-M10. So this recording is not to my usual standards, and sounds a bit boomy and clipped at the louder sections. But all in all it's still quite decent.
The setlist is copied from, so I hope it's accurate and that there's not too many mess-ups in the track splits.
While waiting for the band to come on stage for the first set, the couple behind me had the most insane conversation I have ever heard. The girl was telling the guy that she was organising some graduation party, and she had invited all of her family and friends. Then her dad told her that he wouldn't come, and that in fact he never wanted to see her again. This went on and on and on. And after hearing them talking for like ten minutes, I could totally understand why. She was so immensely annoying!
Thanks as always to Grigio for mastering this recording.